Close

Below is a listing of our faculty. For more information about each faculty member, please click on their name. Click here for a complete alphabetical list of faculty prep periods.

Business

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Bill Brown
  • College and Career Awareness
  • Exploring Computer Science
  • Marketing
george.brown@slcschools.org

TT122

x166

Mike Matheson
  • AP Microeconomics
  • AP Macroeconomics
  • Entrepreneurship Marketing
  • IB Business Management
  • IB Economics
mike.matheson@slcschools.org

C411

x445

Susan M. Raymond
Department Chair
  • Accounting I
  • Accounting II
  • Exploring Computer Science
  • Winter Guard
susan.raymond@slcschools.org

T123

x279

Nicole Reitz-Larsen
  • College and Career Awareness
  • Computer Programming I
  • Exploring Computer Science
nicole.reitz-larsen@slcschools.org

T204

x000

Career and Technical Education (CTE)

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Ron Bartholomew
  • Advanced Electronics
  • Basic Electronics
  • Digital Electronics
ron.bartholomew@slcschools.org

T134

x594

Patrick Doty
  • AP/ IB Computer Science
  • Computer Programming I & II
  • Electronics
  • Robotics
patrick.doty@slcschools.org

206

x206

John Boyd
  • IB Film
  • TV Broadcasting
  • Video Production
john.boyd@slcschools.org

A207

x471

Ami Burton
  • ELP Health
  • IBCC Approaches to Learning
  • Integrated Health Science
  • Introduction to Health Sciences
  • ami.burton@slcschools.org

    T208

    x395

    Libby Davis
    • Design and Visual Communications
    libby.davis@slcschools.org

    337

    x337

    Jamie Delfin
    • Design and Visual Communications
    • Industrial Design
    jamie.delfin@slcschools.org

    B311

    x352

    Joe Lenge
    • Small Engines Tech
    joe.lenge@slcschools.org

    T119 Red Days

    x283

    Brent Limb
    • CTE Intro
    • Furniture Design
    • Millwork
    • Woodworking
    brent.limb@slcschools.org

    T121

    x282

    Garth McFarland
    • Emergency Medicine
    • Exercise & Sports Science
    • IB Sports, Exe4rcise, and Health Science
    • Medical Anatomy & Physiology
    • Medical Terminology
    • Pathophysiology
    garth.mcfarland@slcschools.org

    FH

    x177

    Luis (Seyun) Park
    • Driver's Education
    seyun.park@slcschools.org

    Portable

    xP1

    Evan Smith
    • Design and Visual Communications
    evan.smith@slcschools.org

    B309

    x351

    Tom Szalay
    • Design and Visual Communications
    tom.szalay@slcschools.org

    B302

    x350

    Bryce VonNiederhausern
    Department Chair
    • Automotive Technology
    bryce.vonniederhausern@slcschools.org

    T120

    x394

    ESL/ALS/Reading

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Robyn Chandlier
  • English Language Development II
  • English Language Development IV
  • Reading II, III
  • robyn.chandlier@slcschools.org

    421

    x421

    Valerie Gates
    Department Chair
  • English Language Development I and III
  • valerie.gates@slcschools.org

    408

    x408

    Stacey Hutchings
  • English Language Development I, II, IV
  • stacey.hutchings@slcschools.org

    419

    x419

    Jeffrey Sorensen
  • English Language Development
  • ESL Language Arts 9, 10, 11, and 12
  • Newcomer LA 9, 10, 11, and 12
  • Writing I and II ESL
  • jeffrey.sorensen@slcschools.org

    418

    x418

    Hollie Tanner
  • ESL Language Arts 9, 10, 11, and 12
  • IB Theory of Knowledge
  • hollie.tanner@slcschools.org

    414

    x414

    Family and Consumer Sciences

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Judy Davis
    • Foods I and II
    • Pro Start I and II
    judy.davis@slcschools.org

    235

    x235

    Mary Jensen
    • Adult Roles and Financial Literacy
    • Child Development
    • Early Childhood I and II
    mary.jensen@slcschools.org

    110

    x110

    Brenda Rhodes
    • Adult Roles and Financial Literacy
    • Fashion Design
    • Clothing & Textiles
    • Concurrent Adult Roles and Financial Literacy
    • Inter Design I and II
    brenda.rhodes@slcschools.org

    218

    x218

    Rajeanna Tandy
    • Adult Roles and Financial Literacy
    • College Career Awareness for ELP
    • Foods I and II
    rajeanna.tandy@slcschools.org

    222

    x222

    Jeanne Watson
    Department Chair
    • Adult Roles and Financial Literacy
    • Child Development
    • Early Childhood Education I and II
    jeanne.watson@slcschools.org

    110

    x110

    Fine Arts

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Melinda Benson
    • A'Capella Choir
    • AP/IB Music Theory
    • Chorale
    • Junior Chorus
    melinda.benson@slcschools.org

    223

    x223

    Brian Blodgett
    • Advanced Steel Band
    • Concert Band
    • Guitar
    • Jazz Band
    • Steel Drum Band
    • Symphonic Band
    brian.blodgett@slcschools.org

    109

    x109

    Daniel Campbell
    Visual Arts Department Chair
    • Art History
    • Honors Humanities
    daniel.campbell@slcschools.org

    B308

    x368

    Hilary Carrier
    Performing Arts Department Chair
    • Dance I, II, and II
    • Dance Company
    • IB Dance
    hilary.carrier@slcschools.org

    FH

    x162

    Libby Davis
    • Advance Ceramics
    • AP Sculpture
    • Ceramics I
    • ELP Advanced Art
    libby.davis@slcschools.org

    337

    x337

    Jamie Delfin
    • Design
    • Industrial Design
    • ELP Art I and II
    • ELP Advanced Art
    jamie.delfin@slcschools.org

    B311

    x352

    Rett Neale
    • IB Theatre
    • Play Productions
    • Theatre Foundations I, II, III, IV
    rett.neale@slcschools.org

    416

    x416

    Evan Smith
    • AP Studio Art
    • Drawing
    • IB Art
    • Painting
    evan.smith@slcschools.org

    B309

    x351

    Tom Szalay
    • Advanced Photography
    • Basic Digital Photography
    tom.szalay@slcschools.org

    B302

    x350

    Health Sciences

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Jenne Hamlin
    • Health
    jenne.hamlin@slcschools.org

    T133

    x593

    Ami Burton
    • ELP Health
    • IBCC Approaches to Learning
    • Integrated Health Science
    • Introduction to Health Sciences
    ami.burton@slcschools.org

    T208

    x395

    Language Arts

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Julie Adams
    • AP English
    • Honors Language Arts 11
    • Language Arts 12
    julie.adams@slcschools.org

    437

    x437

    Will Cogswell
    • Honors Language Arts 10
    • Honors Language Arts 11
    • Language Arts 10
    will.cogswell@slcschools.org

    419

    x419

    Tara John
    • IB Higher Level English Literature
    • Language Arts 9
    • Language Arts 11
    tara.john@slcschools.org

    303

    x303

    Bo Maciejko
    Department Chair
    • Honors Language Arts 10
    • Language Arts 10
    bo.maciejko@slcschools.org

    302

    x302

    Rett Neale
    • Language Arts 10
    rett.neale@slcschools.org

    416

    x416

    Jefferson Packer
    • Creative Writing
    • Creative Writing Advanced
    • Honors Language Arts 9
    • Journalism
    jefferson.packer@slcschools.org

    428

    x428

    Denise Pfeiffer
    • Concurrent Enrollment English 1010
    • Language Arts ELP 8
    • Language Arts 9 Honors
    • Language Arts 11 Honors
    denise.pfeiffer@slcschools.org

    300

    x300

    Helene Schroeter
    • Concurrent English
    • Honors Language Arts 11
    • Language Arts 12
    helene.schroeter@slcschools.org

    C411

    x445

    Marene Stensrud
    • Language Arts 9
    • Honors Language Arts 9
    marene.stensrud@slcschools.org

    419

    x419

    Marcie Thompson
    • Language Arts 10
    • Language Arts 11
    • Honors Language Arts 11
    marcie.thompson@slcschools.org

    405

    x405

    Mindy Thompson
    • AP English Lit
    • ELP 7th Grade Language Arts
    • IB English
    mindy.thompson@slcschools.org

    412

    x412

    Tara Umipig
    • English 1010 Concurrent Enrollment
    • Language Arts 10 Honors
    • Language Arts 12
    tara.umipig@slcschools.org

    426

    x426

    Mathematics

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Sarah Anderson
    sarah.anderson@slcschools.org

    000

    x000

    Janeen Ardito
    • Intro to Statistics
    • Math Lab
    • Secondary Math I
    janeen.ardito@slcschools.org

    D404

    x454

    Norma Boyce
    • College Prep Math
    • Personal Finance Math
    • Secondary Math III
    norma.boyce@slcschools.org

    T125

    x403

    Roger Haglund
    roger.haglund@slcschools.org

    000

    x000

    Todd Kassner
    • AP Statistics
    • 7th & 8th Grade Math
    todd.kassner@slcschools.org

    D402

    x452

    Ni'i Kinikini
    Department Chair
    • AP Calculus
    • Math 1010
    • Secondary Math II
    nii.kinikini@slcschools.org

    D405

    x455

    Jeff Marston
    • Algebra II
    • Honors Algebra II
    • Secondary Math II
    jeff.marston@slcschools.org

    D401

    x451

    Nathaniel Nelson
    • Honors Secondary Math I
    • Honors Secondary Math II
    • IB Mathematics HL
    nathaniel.nelson@slcschools.org

    T210

    x392

    Joshua Pelton
    • IB Standard Level Math
    • Secondary Math Honors III
    joshua.pelton@slcschools.org

    x453

    Jessica Chavez
    • Secondary Math I
    • Secondary Math II Honors
    • Secondary Math III
    jessica.staker@slcschools.org

    D407

    x457

    Lori Takenaka
    • Math Essentials
    • Secondary Math I
    lori.takenaka@slcschools.org

    424 Red Days

    x424

    Jane Wadsworth
    • AP Calculus AB
    • AP Calculus BC
    • Pre-Calculus Honors
    jane.wadsworth@slcschools.org

    D405

    x303

    Physical Education

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Syd Aland
    Department Chair
    • 8th Grade PE
    • 9th Grade PE
    • Aerobics
    • Lifetime Activities
    • Team Activities
    sydney.aland@slcschools.org

    Tech Gym

    x286

    Bill Groves
    • Body Conditioning
    • Lifetime Fitness
    • PE Skills
    • Weight Training
    bill.groves@slcschools.org

    F301A

    x161

    Kristy Proesch
    • Cheerleading
    • Fit for Life
    • Oestanas
    • PE Skills
    kristy.proesch@slcschools.org

    FH

    x158

    Ronnie Stubbs
    • AVID
    • Body Conditioning
    • Fit for Life
    • PE Skills
    ronnie.stubbs@slcschools.org

    FH

    x159

    Science

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Melissa Anderson
    • AP/IB Chemistry
    • Honors Chemistry
    • IB Chemistry HL
    melissa.anderson@slcschools.org

    T224

    x295

    Enrique Arce-Larreta
    Course Calendar
    enrique.arce-larreta@slcschools.org

    T220

    x298

    Erica Birch
    @slcschools.org

    000

    x000

    Christian Edgar, EdD
    Website
    • Chemistry
    • Honors Chemistry
    james.edgar@slcschools.org

    T218

    x297

    Gena Cox
    • Honors Biology
    gena.cox@slcschools.org

    T228

    x596

    Thomas Deaver
    • Physics with Technology
    thomas.deaver@slcschools.org

    T221

    x293

    George Haines
    • Astronomy
    • Biology
    • Physics
    george.haines@slcschools.org

    T219

    x294

    Janae Hunt
    • Chemistry
    • Earth Systems
    janae.hunt@slcschools.org

    T229

    x597

    Crystal King
    • AP/IB Environmental Science
    • Biology
    • ELP 8th Grade Science
    crystal.king@slcschools.org

    T216

    x296

    Tyler Lamming
    • Earth Systems
    tyler.laming@slcschools.org

    T217

    x292

    Hilary Thirlwell
    Department Chair
    • AP/IB Biology
    • AP/IB Biology HL
    • Integrated Science 7th Grade
    hilary.thirlwell@slcschools.org

    T230

    x395

    Social Studies

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Moses Baca
    • Debate
    • Honors Georgraphy
    • World Civilization
    moses.baca@slcschools.org

    000

    x000

    Kara Budge
    • Honors US History
    • IB Psychology
    • Psychology/Sociology
    kara.budge@slcschools.org

    C409

    x444

    Daniel Campbell
    • World Civilizations
    daniel.campbell@slcschools.org

    B308

    x368

    Kristie Goddard
    • AP Psychology
    • Geography for Life I and II
    • Honors World Civilizations I and II
    kristie.goddard@slcschools.org

    C415

    x447

    David Harper
    • US History Honors
    • US History
    • World Civilizations Honors
    david.harper@slcschools.org

    202

    x202

    Teri King
    • AP US History
    • Student Government
    • Student Senate
    teri.king@slcschools.org

    C419

    x449

    Mike Matheson
    • Geography for Life
    mike.matheson@slcschools.org

    C411

    x445

    Kellie May
    • AVID
    • Government and Civics
    kellie.may@slcschools.org

    C407

    x443

    Jenny Nicholas
    Department Chair
    • Government
    • IB History
    • Theory of Knowledge
    • PXP
    jenny.nicholas@slcschools.org

    C400

    x440

    Shad Roghaar
    • Geography for Life
    shad.roghaar@slcschools.org

    337

    x337

    Kami Romeike
    • Geography
    • Honors Geography
    • Honors World Civilizations
    • World Civilizations
    kami.romeike@slcschools.org

    C402

    x402

    Jacob Taber
    • Honors Geography for Life
    • Geography for Life
    • Utah Studies
    jacob.taber@slcschools.org

    C417

    x448

    James Tobler
    • AVID
    • US History
    • Yearbook
    james.tobler@slcschools.org

    403

    x403

    Sandra Twiggs
    • AP Georgraphy
    • ELP US History
    • US History
    • IB Geography
    sandra.twiggs@slcschools.org

    C402

    x441

    Special Education

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Tina Breck
    • Language Arts
    tina.breck@slcschools.org

    312

    x312

    John Engel
    • Language Arts
    john.engel@slcschools.org

    306

    x306

    Keith Lopati
    • Behavior Support
    keith.lopati@slcschools.org

    T104

    x176

    Christopher Mortensen
    • Functional Life Skills
    christopher.mortensen@slcschools.org

    201

    x201

    Laura Nava
    • Resource Math
    laura.nava@slcschools.org

    315

    x315

    Lacy Nelson
    • Academic Support/Resource
    lacy.nelson@slcschools.org

    307

    x307

    Cory Norton
    • Functional Life Skills
    cory.norton@slcschools.org

    108

    x108

    Nikki Orton
    Department Chair
    • Functional Academics
    nikki.orton@slcschools.org

    200

    x200

    Sham Sorenson
    • Academic Support
    sham.sorenson@slcschools.org

    310

    x310

    Ron Webb
    • Math
    ron.webb@slcschools.org

    308

    x308

    World Languages

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Susana Anderson
    • Spanish for Native Speakers
    • Study Skills for Latinos
    susana.anderson@slcschools.org

    D409 Black Days

    x320

    Aileen Aviles
  • AP/IB Spanish Standard Level
  • IB Spanish Higher Level
  • Spanish for Native Speakers II
  • aileen.aviles@slcschools.org

    320 Red Days Only

    x320

    Gary Griffenhagen
    • Conversational Spanish
    • Spanish I and II
    • Spanish for Native Speakers
    gary.griffenhagen@slcschools.org

    333

    x333

    Stacey Hutchings
  • Spanish II
  • stacey.hutchings@slcschools.org

    422

    x422

    Laila Lamani
    Department Chair
    • Arabic I
    • Arabic II
    • IB Arabic
    • French I
    • French II
    laila.lamani@slcschools.org

    426

    x426

    Emmy Luo
    • IB/AP Mandarin Chinese
    • Mandarin Chinese I
    • Mandarin Chinese II
    • Mandarin Chinese III
    • Mandarin Chinese IV
    emmy.luo@slcschools.org

    331

    x331

    Alisan Mills
    • French IV
    • IB/AP French
    • Yoga
    alisan.mills@slcschools.org

    313 Black Days

    x313

    Lori Poll
    • American Sign Language I, II, and III
    lori.poll@slcschools.org

    301

    x301

    Wendy Schmidt
    • AP/IB German
    • German I, II, III, and IV
    wendy.schmidt@slcschools.org

    400

    x400

    Kent Thompson
    • Spanish II
    • Spanish III
    • Spanish IV
    kent.thompson@slcschools.org

    324

    x324

    Supervised Studies

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Stacey Hutchings
  • Supervised Studies 3B
  • stacey.hutchings@slcschools.org

    T122

    x116

    Emmy Luo
  • Supervised Studies 1B
  • emmy.luo@slcschools.org

    T122

    x116

    Denise Pfeiffer
  • Supervised Studies 1R and 2B
  • denise.pfeiffer@slcschools.org

    T122

    x116

    Lori Poll
  • Supervised Studies 3R
  • lori.poll@slcschools.org

    T122

    x116

    TBA
  • Supervised Studies 2R
  • T122

    x116

    Naval Science

    Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
    Julio Gonzales
    • Naval Science
    julio.gonzales@slcschools.org

    113

    x113

    Jonathan Kehr
    • Naval Science
    jonathan.kehr@slcschools.org

    115

    x115

    Contact Us

    West High School
    241 North 300 West
    Salt Lake City, UT 84103
    phone: 801.578.8500
    fax: 801.578.8516

    Stay Connected!

    Search

    Translate This Site


    If you need or would like this document in your own language, please contact Valerie Gates at (801) 578-8500, ext. 408, or contact Salt Lake City School District, 440 East 100 South, Salt Lake City, Utah, 84111

    No district employee or student shall be subjected to discrimination in employment or any district program or activity on the basis of age, color, disability, gender, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sexual orientation, or veteran status. The district is committed to providing equal access and equal opportunity in its programs, services and employment including its policies, complaint processes, program accessibility, district facility use, accommodations and other Equal Employment Opportunity matters. The district also provides equal access to district facilities for all youth groups listed in Title 36 of the United States Code, including scouting groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries and complaints regarding unlawful discrimination, harassment, and retaliation: Whitney Banks, Compliance and Investigations, 440 East 100 South, Salt Lake City, Utah 84111, (801) 578-8388. You may also contact the Office for Civil Rights, Denver, CO, (303) 844-5695.

    back to top