Close

Below is a listing of our faculty. For more information about each faculty member, please click on their name. Click here for a complete alphabetical list of 2017 faculty prep periods.

Business/Information Technology (CTE)

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Susan M. Raymond
Department Chair
  • Accounting I
  • Accounting II
  • Business Management
  • Business Communications
  • Digital Business Applications
  • Digital Literacy
  • Marketing I
  • Winter/Color Guard
susan.raymond@slcschools.org

T115

x2780

Trent Butler
  • Financial Literacy
william.butler@slcschools.org

209

x2090

Stuart Morris
  • Business Office Specialist
  • Entrepreneurship
  • IB Economics
  • IB Business Management
stuart.morris@slcschools.org

T122

x1660

Nicole Reitz-Larsen
  • AP Computer Science Principles
  • Exploring Computer Science
nicole.reitz-larsen@slcschools.org

206

x2060

Todd Vawdrey
  • AP/IB Computer Science
  • Exploring Computer Science
  • Computer Programming I, II
todd.vawdrey@slcschools.org

Roving

xemail only

ESL/ALS/Reading

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Valerie Gates
Department Chair
  • English Language Development I and III
valerie.gates@slcschools.org

417

x4170

Angie Algarin
  • ELA Honors 10
  • Reading III
angie.algarin@slcschools.org

408

x4080

Julie Barker
  • English Language Development
julie.barker@slcschools.org

402

x4020

Robin Chandlier
  • English Language Development II
  • English Language Development IV
  • Reading II, III
robyn.chandlier@slcschools.org

421

x4210

Stacey Hutchings
  • English Language Development IV
stacey.hutchings@slcschools.org

419

x4190

Emily Moroz
  • ESL III
emily.moroz@slcschools.org

D407

x4590

Jeffrey Sorensen
  • English Language Development
  • ESL Language Arts 9, 10, 11, and 12
  • Newcomer LA 9, 10, 11, and 12
  • Writing I and II ESL
jeffrey.sorensen@slcschools.org

418

x4180

Family and Consumer Sciences (CTE)

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Brenda Rhodes
Department Chair
  • Apparel Design/Sport Outdoor Production I/II
  • Adult Roles and Financial Literacy
  • Fashion Design
  • Textile Design
brenda.rhodes@slcschools.org

216

x2160

Judy Davis
  • Foods I and II
  • Pro Start I and II
judy.davis@slcschools.org

235

x2350

Madeline Hollenbeak
  • IB-PPS
  • Interior Design I/II
  • Foods I
  • Financial Literacy
madeline.hollenbeak@slcschools.org

222

x2220

Mary Jensen
  • Life Management
mary.jensen@slcschools.org

218

x2180

Mackenzie Key
  • Child Development
  • Early Childhood Education I
  • Early Childhood Education II
  • PXP
mackenzie.key@slcschools.org

110

x1100

Fine Arts

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Evan Smith
Department Chair
  • AP Studio Art
  • Drawing
  • IB Art
  • Painting
evan.smith@slcschools.org

B309

x3510

Melinda Benson
  • A'Capella Choir
  • AP/IB Music Theory
  • Beginning Chorus
  • Junior Chorus
  • Supervised Studies
melinda.benson@slcschools.org

223

x2230

Brian Blodgett
  • Advanced Steel Band
  • Concert Band
  • Guitar
  • Jazz Band
  • Steel Drum Band
  • Symphonic Band
brian.blodgett@slcschools.org

109

x1090

Libby Davis
  • Advance Ceramics
  • AP Sculpture
  • Ceramics I
  • ELP Advanced Art
libby.davis@slcschools.org

337

x3370

Jamie Delfin
  • Design
  • Industrial Design
  • ELP Art I and II
  • ELP Advanced Art
jamie.delfin@slcschools.org

B311

x3520

Amanda Hackmeister
  • Intro to Design
amanda.hackmeister@slcschools.org

B308

x3680

Kirk Heinrichsen
  • Art History & Criticism
kirk.heinrichsen@slcschools.org

414

x4140

Stacey Hutchings
  • Debate for Elpers
  • Theatre
stacey.hutchings@slcschools.org

416

x4160

Sophia Esterman
  • Basic Digital Photography
  • Intro to Design
sophia.esterman@slcschools.org

B302
337

x3500
3370

Tom Szalay
  • Advanced Photography
  • Basic Digital Photography
tom.szalay@slcschools.org

B302

x3500

Natosha Washington
  • Dance
natosha.washington@slcschools.org

FNDNC

x1620

Health Sciences

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Jenne Hamlin
  • Health
jenne.hamlin@slcschools.org

T133

x5930

Garth McFarland
  • Excercise Science Sports Medicine
  • IB Sports, Exercise, and Health Science
  • Medical Anatomy & Physiology
  • Medical Terminology
garth.mcfarland@slcschools.org

FH

x1770

Kim Norman
  • ELP Health
  • Health 10
  • PXP
kimberly.norman@slcschools.org

A005

xemail only

Richard Spencer
  • Exercise Science/Sports Medicine
  • IB Approaches to Learning
  • Intro to Health Science
  • Integrated Health & Health Science
  • Medical Terminology
richard.spencer@slcschools.org

T221

x2930

Language Arts

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Marene Stensrud
Co-Department Head
  • AP Literature and Composition
  • ELP Language Arts 8
  • IB English
marene.stensrud@slcschools.org

410

x4100

Marcie Thompson
Co-Department Head
  • AP Literature
  • Honors Language Arts 11
marcie.thompson@slcschools.org

405

x4050

Julie Adams
  • AP Literature
  • Honors Language Arts 11
  • Language Arts 12
julie.adams@slcschools.org

437

x4370

Angela Algarin
  • Honors Language Arts 10
angie.algarin@slcschools.org

417

x4170

Denny Aldridge
  • AVID Site Coordinator
  • AVID 11/12
  • Language Arts 9
  • Language Arts 9Honors
denny.aldridge@slcschools.org

403

x4030

Will Cogswell
  • Honors Language Arts 10
  • Honors Language Arts 11
  • Language Arts 10
will.cogswell@slcschools.org

000

x000

Tara John
  • IB Higher Level English Literature
  • Language Arts 9
  • Language Arts 11
  • Language Arts 12
tara.john@slcschools.org

303

x3030

Christopher McGill
  • Honors Language Arts 10
  • Language Arts 9
  • Language Arts 11
christopher.mcgill@slcschools.org

431

x4310

Helen McNally
  • Language Arts
helen.mcnally@slcschools.org

302

x3020

Bo Maciejko
  • Honors Language Arts 10
  • Language Arts 10
bo.maciejko@slcschools.org

302

x3020

Rett Neale
  • Creative Writing
  • Language Arts 9 Honors
  • Language Arts 10
rett.neale@slcschools.org

320

x3200

Jefferson Packer
  • Creative Writing
  • Creative Writing Advanced
  • Honors Language Arts 9
  • Journalism
jefferson.packer@slcschools.org

428

x4280

Denise Pfeiffer
  • Concurrent Enrollment English 1010 & 2010
  • Language Arts ELP 8
  • Language Arts 11 Honors
denise.pfeiffer@slcschools.org

300

x3000

Mindy Thompson
  • AP English Lit
  • ELP 7th Grade Language Arts
  • IB English
mindy.thompson@slcschools.org

412

x4120

Mathematics

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Ni'i Kinikini
Department Chair
  • CE Math 1030 Quantitative Reasoning
  • Secondary Math II Honors
  • Secondary Math III
nii.kinikini@slcschools.org

D405

x4550

Sarah Anderson
  • Secondary Math I
  • Secondary Math I Honors
  • IB Math Studies SL
  • PXP
sarah.anderson@slcschools.org

424

x4240

Janeen Ardito
  • Secondary Math III
  • Intro to Statistics
  • CE Math 1040 Intro to Stats
  • CE Math 1050 College Algegra
janeen.ardito@slcschools.org

T125

x2810

Mary Chamberlin
  • Secondary Math I
  • Secondary Math II
  • Secondary Math II Honors
  • PXP
mary.chamberlin@slcschools.org

D407

x4570

Jessica Chavez
  • Math Coach
jessica.chavez@slcschools.org

322

x3220

Aubrey Gamble
  • Secondary Math II
  • Secondary Math III
  • Secondary Math III Honors
aubrey.gamble@slcschools.org

431

x4310

Candace Garcia
  • Secondary Math II
  • Math Lab S2
  • Math of Personal Finance
  • PXP
candace.garcia@slcschools.org

422

x4220

Roger Haglund
  • Secondary Math I
  • Secondary Math II Honors
  • PXP
roger.haglund@slcschools.org

D404

x4540

Todd Kassner
  • Math 7 Honors ELP
  • Math 8 Honors ELP
  • Secondary Math I Honors
  • AP Calculus AB
todd.kassner@slcschools.org

D401

x4510

Joel Miller
  • Secondary Math I Honors
  • Secondary Math II
  • Secondary Math II Honors
joel.miller@slcschools.org

D400

x4500

Nathaniel Nelson
  • AP Statistics
  • IB Mathematics HL2
nathaniel.nelson@slcschools.org

Roving

xemail only

Joshua Pelton
  • Secondary Math III
  • Secondary Math III Honors
  • IB Mathematics SL2
  • PXP/AVID
joshua.pelton@slcschools.org

D403

x4530

Lori Takenaka
  • Secondary Math I
  • Secondary Math I Honors
  • Secondary Math II
lori.takenaka@slcschools.org

C411

x4450

Todd Vawdrey
  • Secondary Math I
  • Secondary Math II Honors
  • Secondary Math III Honors
todd.vawdrey@slcschools.org

Roving

xemail only

Jane Wadsworth
  • Secondary Math III Honors
  • College Prep Math
  • Pre-Calculus AB
  • AP Calculus BC / IB Math HL1
jane.wadsworth@slcschools.org

T211

x2900

Naval Science

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Jonathan Kehr
Department Chair
  • Naval Science
  • Academic Team
  • Armed Drill Team
  • Competitive Shooting
  • Orienteering Team
  • Unarmed Drill Team
jonathan.kehr@slcschools.org

115

x1150

Julio Gonzales
  • Naval Science
  • Academic Team
  • Armed Drill Team
  • Competitive Shooting
  • Orienteering Team
  • Unarmed Drill Team
julio.gonzales@slcschools.org

113

x1130

Physical Education

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Syd Aland
Department Chair
  • 8th Grade PE
  • 9th Grade PE
  • Aerobics
  • Lifetime Activities
  • Team Activities
sydney.aland@slcschools.org

Tech Gym

x2860

Bill Groves
  • Body Conditioning
  • Lifetime Fitness
  • PE Skills
  • Weight Training
bill.groves@slcschools.org

F301A

x1610

Casey Jackson
  • PE

casey.jackson@slcschools.org

FH

x1580

Allison Mills
  • Yoga
allison.mills@slcschools.org

Track

x3130

Kristy Proesch
  • Cheerleading
  • Fit for Life
  • Oestanas
  • PE Skills
kristy.proesch@slcschools.org

FH

x1580

Ronnie Stubbs
  • AVID
  • Body Conditioning
  • Fit for Life
  • PE Skills
ronnie.stubbs@slcschools.org

FH

x1590

Justin Thompson
  • Body Conditioning
justin.thompson@slcschools.org

203

x2030

Science

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Melissa Anderson
Department Chair
  • AP/IB Chemistry
  • Honors Chemistry
  • IB Chemistry HL
melissa.anderson@slcschools.org

T224

x2950

Enrique Arce-Larreta enrique.arce-larreta@slcschools.org

Course Calendar

T220

x2980

Alison Bulson
  • AP Physics I
  • Physics with Techology
alison.bulson@slcschools.org

T126

x2800

Erin Capra
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
first.last@slcschools.org

T213

x2910

Christian Edgar
  • Chemistry
  • Honors Chemistry
james.edgar@slcschools.org

T218

x2970

Robert Gabriele
  • Biology
  • Biology Honors
robert.gabriele@slcschools.org

T208

x3950

George Haines
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Physics
george.haines@slcschools.org

T219

x2940

Maren Hansen
  • Honors Biology
maren.hansen@slcschools.org

T228

x1360

Janae Hunt
  • Zoology
  • Honors Chemistry
janae.hunt@slcschools.org

T229

x5970

Ted Lacross
  • Earth Science
theodore.lacross@slcschools.org

T210

x3920

Crystal King
  • AP/IB Environmental Science
  • Biology
  • ELP 8th Grade Science
crystal.king@slcschools.org

T216

x2960

Tyler Lamming
  • Earth Systems
  • PXP
tyler.laming@slcschools.org

T217

x2920

Hilary Thirwell
  • AP/IB Biology
  • AP/IB Biology HL
  • Honors Biology
hilary.thirlwell@slcschools.org

T230

x3950

Skilled and Technical Sciences / Technology & Engineering

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Bryce VonNiederhausern
Department Chair
  • Automotive Technology
bryce.vonniederhausern@slcschools.org

T120

x3940

Moses Baca
  • IB Film
  • TV Broadcasting
  • Video Production
moses.baca@slcschools.org

A207

x2520

Ron Bartholomew
  • College and Career Awareness
  • Electronics 1, 2, and 3
ron.bartholomew@slcschools.org

T135

x5950

Patrick Doty
  • Engineering
  • Electronics
  • Robotics
patrick.doty@slcschools.org

T123

x2790

Joe Lenge
  • Small Engines Tech
joe.lenge@slcschools.org

T119

x2830

Luis (Seyun) Park
  • Driver's Education
  • PXP
seyun.park@slcschools.org

Portable

x000

Matthew Rodabough
  • Cabinet Making/Millwork
  • Furniture Design
  • Woodworking
matthew.rodabough@slcschools.org

T124

x2840

Social Studies

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
David Harper
Department Chair
  • US History Honors
  • US History
  • World Civilizations Honors
david.harper@slcschools.org

202

x2020

Suzanne Arthur
  • AVID 10
  • Georgraphy
  • PXP
suzanne.arthur@slcschools.org

207

x2070

Moses Baca
  • Advanced Debate
  • Debate I
moses.baca@slcschools.org

000

x000

Julie Barker
  • Geography for Life Honors
julie.barker@slcschools.org

402

x4020

Kristie Goddard
  • AP Psychology
  • Geography for Life I and II
  • Honors World Civilizations I and II
kristie.goddard@slcschools.org

C415

x4470

Teri King
  • AP US History
  • Student Government
  • Student Senate
teri.king@slcschools.org

C419

x4490

Helen McNally
  • Geography
  • IB History
helen.mcnally@slcschools.org

302

x3020

Mike Matheson
  • AP US History
  • US History
mike.matheson@slcschools.org

C409

x4440

Brook Miller
  • Georgraphy for Life
  • Psychology/Sociology
brook.miller@slcschools.org

C407

x4430

Jenny Nicholas
  • Government
  • Theory of Knowledge
  • PXP
jenny.nicholas@slcschools.org

C400

x4400

Holly Reynolds
  • US Government and Citizenship
  • US History Honors
  • World Civilizations
  • PXP
holly.reynolds@slcschools.org

C408

x4420

Jacob Taber
  • Geography
  • PXP
  • US History
  • Utah Studies
jacob.taber@slcschools.org

C417

x4480

Justin Thompson
  • IB Theory of Knowledge
justin.thompson@slcschools.org

203

x2030

Sandra Twiggs
  • AP Georgraphy
  • ELP US History
  • IB Geography
sandra.twiggs@slcschools.org

C402

x4410

Special Education

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Nikki Orton
Department Chair
  • Functional Academics
nikki.orton@slcschools.org

200

x2000

Tina Breck
  • Language Arts
tina.breck@slcschools.org

312

x3120

Veronica Killion
  • Language Arts
  • Math Lab
veronica.killion@slcschools.org

306

x3060

Keith Lopati
  • Behavior Support
keith.lopati@slcschools.org

T104

x1760

Christopher Mortensen
  • Functional Life Skills
christopher.mortensen@slcschools.org

201

x2010

Laura Nava
  • Resource Math
laura.nava@slcschools.org

315

x3150

Lacy Nelson
  • Academic Support/Resource
  • ELP Health
lacy.nelson@slcschools.org

307

x3070

Cory Norton
  • Functional Life Skills
cory.norton@slcschools.org

108

x1080

Barry Pewtress
  • Math Lab
barry.pewtress@slcschools.org

308

x3080

Sham Sorensen
  • Academic Support
sham.sorensen@slcschools.org

310

x3100

World Languages

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Susanna Anderson
Department Chair
  • Concurrent Film and Literature
  • IB Spanish SL2
susana.anderson@slcschools.org

411

x4110

Kathy Barnard
  • German I
  • German II
  • German III
  • German IV
  • German AP/IB
  • PXP
kathy.barnard@slcschools.org

T134

x1340

Laila Lamani
  • Arabic I
  • Arabic II
  • IB Arabic
  • French I
  • French II
  • French IV
laila.lamani@slcschools.org

426

x4260

Emmy Luo
  • IB/AP Mandarin Chinese
  • Mandarin Chinese I
  • Mandarin Chinese II
  • Mandarin Chinese III
  • Mandarin Chinese IV
emmy.luo@slcschools.org

331

x3310

Valeria Madsen
  • Spanish I
  • Spanish II
valeria.madsen@slcschools.org

000

x000

Tara Marty
  • French I
  • French II
tara.marty@slcschools.org

313

x3130

Alisan Mills
  • IB/AP French
  • Yoga
alisan.mills@slcschools.org

313

x3130

Yulliana Novoa
  • Spanish I
  • Spanish II
  • Spanish IV
yulliana.novoa@slcschools.org

406

x4060

Lori Poll
  • American Sign Language I, II, and III
lori.poll@slcschools.org

301

x3010

Avelina Staker
  • Spanish III
  • Spanish for Native Speakers
avelina.staker@slcschools.org

000

x000

Kent Thompson
  • Spanish II
  • Spanish III
kent.thompson@slcschools.org

324

x3240

Contact Us

West High School
241 North 300 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
phone: 801.578.8500
fax: 801.578.8516

Stay Connected!

SafeUT CrisisLine

SafeUT Send a Tip

Peachjar

Peach Jar

Search

Translate This Site


If you need or would like this document in your own language, please contact Valerie Gates at (801) 578-8500, ext. 408, or contact Salt Lake City School District, 440 East 100 South, Salt Lake City, Utah, 84111

Non-Discrimination

No district employee or student shall be subjected to discrimination in employment or any district program or activity on the basis of age, color, disability, gender, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sexual orientation, or veteran status. The district is committed to providing equal access and equal opportunity in its programs, services and employment including its policies, complaint processes, program accessibility, district facility use, accommodations and other Equal Employment Opportunity matters. The district also provides equal access to district facilities for all youth groups listed in Title 36 of the United States Code, including scouting groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries and complaints regarding unlawful discrimination, harassment, and retaliation: Tina Hatch, Compliance and Investigations, 440 East 100 South, Salt Lake City, Utah 84111, (801) 578-8348. You may also contact the Office for Civil Rights, Denver, CO, (303) 844-5695.


Click to view the long form of the civil rights notices
Click to view the grievance procedures

Translation Services

If you need help understanding this information in your language, please contact the school office for free language assistance.

back to top