Close

Below is a listing of our faculty. For more information about each faculty member, please click on their name. Click here for a complete alphabetical list of faculty prep periods.

Business/Information Technology (CTE)

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Susan M. Raymond
Department Chair
  • Accounting I
  • Accounting II
  • Business Communications
  • Business Management
  • Marketing I
  • Marketing II
  • Winter/Color Guard
susan.raymond@slcschools.org

T115

x278

Mike Matheson
  • AP Microeconomics
  • AP Macroeconomics
  • Entrepreneurship
  • IB Business Management
  • IB Economics
mike.matheson@slcschools.org

207

x207

Nicole Reitz-Larsen
  • College and Career Awareness
  • Computer Programming I
  • Exploring Computer Science
nicole.reitz-larsen@slcschools.org

T204

x000

Todd Vawdrey
  • AP/IB Computer Science
  • Exploring Computer Science
  • College Career Awareness
  • Computer Science I, II
  • Secondary Math I Honors
todd.vawdrey@slcschools.org

T122

x166

ESL/ALS/Reading

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Valerie Gates
Department Chair
  • English Language Development I and III
valerie.gates@slcschools.org

408

x408

Angie Algarin
  • ELA Honors 10
  • Reading II/III
angie.algarin@slcschools.org

417

x417

Julie Barker
  • English Language Development
  • ELL Language Arts
julie.barker@slcschools.org

414

x414

Robin Chandlier
  • English Language Development II
  • English Language Development IV
  • Reading II, III
robyn.chandlier@slcschools.org

421

x421

Stacey Hutchings
  • English Language Development IV
stacey.hutchings@slcschools.org

419

x419

Jeffrey Sorensen
  • English Language Development
  • ESL Language Arts 9, 10, 11, and 12
  • Newcomer LA 9, 10, 11, and 12
  • Writing I and II ESL
jeffrey.sorensen@slcschools.org

418

x418

Family and Consumer Sciences (CTE)

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Judy Davis
Department Chair
  • Foods I and II
  • Pro Start I and II
judy.davis@slcschools.org

235

x235

Mary Jensen
  • Life Management
mary.jensen@slcschools.org

222

x222

Mackenzie Key
  • Child Development
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Financial Literacy
mackenzie.key@slcschools.org

110

x110

Brenda Rhodes
  • Apparel Design
  • Adult Roles and Financial Literacy
  • Fashion Design
  • Financial Literacy
  • Inter Design I and II
  • Sports and Outdoor Production
brenda.rhodes@slcschools.org

218

x218

Fine Arts

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Hilary Carrier
Performing Arts Department Chair
  • Dance I, II, and II
  • Dance Company
  • IB Dance
hilary.carrier@slcschools.org

FH

x162

Melinda Benson
  • A'Capella Choir
  • AP/IB Music Theory
  • Beginning Chorus
  • Junior Chorus
  • Supervised Studies
melinda.benson@slcschools.org

223

x223

Brian Blodgett
  • Advanced Steel Band
  • Concert Band
  • Guitar
  • Jazz Band
  • Steel Drum Band
  • Symphonic Band
brian.blodgett@slcschools.org

109

x109

Libby Davis
  • Advance Ceramics
  • AP Sculpture
  • Ceramics I
  • ELP Advanced Art
libby.davis@slcschools.org

337

x337

Jamie Delfin
  • Design
  • Industrial Design
  • ELP Art I and II
  • ELP Advanced Art
jamie.delfin@slcschools.org

B311

x352

Stacey Hutchings
  • Debate for Elpers
  • Theatre
stacey.hutchings@slcschools.org

416

x416

James Reynolds
  • Basic Digital Photography
  • Intro to Design
james.reynolds@slcschools.org

B302
337

x350
337

Evan Smith
  • AP Studio Art
  • Drawing
  • IB Art
  • Painting
evan.smith@slcschools.org

B309

x351

Tom Szalay
  • Advanced Photography
  • Basic Digital Photography
tom.szalay@slcschools.org

B302

x350

Health Sciences

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Jenne Hamlin
  • Health
jenne.hamlin@slcschools.org

T133

x593

Garth McFarland
  • IB Sports, Exe4rcise, and Health Science
  • Medical Anatomy & Physiology
  • Medical Terminology
garth.mcfarland@slcschools.org

FH

x177

Kim Norman
  • ELP Health
  • Health 10
  • PXP
kimberly.norman@slcschools.org

313

x313

Richard Spencer
  • Exercise Science/Sports Medicine
  • IB Approaches to Learning
  • Intro to Health Science
  • Integrated Health & Health Science
  • Medical Terminology
richard.spencer@slcschools.org

T221

x293

Language Arts

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Bo Maciejko
Department Chair
  • Honors Language Arts 10
  • Language Arts 10
bo.maciejko@slcschools.org

302

x302

Julie Adams
  • AP Literature
  • Honors Language Arts 11
  • Language Arts 12
julie.adams@slcschools.org

437

x437

Denny Aldridge
  • Language Arts 9
  • Language Arts 10
  • Reading III
denny.aldridge@slcschools.org

419

x419

Will Cogswell
  • Honors Language Arts 10
  • Honors Language Arts 11
  • Language Arts 10
will.cogswell@slcschools.org

x

Tara John
  • IB Higher Level English Literature
  • Language Arts 9
  • Language Arts 11
tara.john@slcschools.org

303

x303

Christopher McGill
  • Honors Language Arts 10
  • Language Arts 9
  • Language Arts 11
christopher.mcgill@slcschools.org

431

x431

Rett Neale
  • Language Arts 9 Honors
  • Language Arts 10
rett.neale@slcschools.org

000

x000

Jefferson Packer
  • Creative Writing
  • Creative Writing Advanced
  • Honors Language Arts 9
  • Journalism
jefferson.packer@slcschools.org

428

x428

Denise Pfeiffer
  • Concurrent Enrollment English 1010 & 2010
  • Language Arts ELP 8
  • Language Arts 11 Honors
denise.pfeiffer@slcschools.org

300

x300

Helene Schroeter
  • Concurrent English
  • Honors Language Arts 11
  • Language Arts 12
helene.schroeter@slcschools.org

C411

x445

Marene Stensrud
  • AP Literature and Composition
  • ELP Language Arts 8
  • IB English
marene.stensrud@slcschools.org

410

x410

Marcie Thompson
  • AP Literature
  • Honors Language Arts 11
marcie.thompson@slcschools.org

405

x405

Mindy Thompson
  • AP English Lit
  • ELP 7th Grade Language Arts
  • IB English
mindy.thompson@slcschools.org

412

x412

Tara Umipig
  • English 1010 Concurrent Enrollment
  • Language Arts 10 Honors
  • Language Arts 12
tara.umipig@slcschools.org

426

x426

Mathematics

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Ni'i Kinikini
Department Chair
  • AP Calculus
  • Math 1010
  • Secondary Math II
nii.kinikini@slcschools.org

D405

x455

Sarah Anderson
  • Secondary Math I
  • Secondary Math I Honors
  • IB Math Studies
sarah.anderson@slcschools.org

424

x424

Janeen Ardito
  • Intro to Statistics
  • Math Lab
  • Secondary Math I
janeen.ardito@slcschools.org

D404

x454

Jessica Chavez
  • Math Coach
jessica.staker@slcschools.org

x

Candace Garcia
  • Secondary Math I
  • Secondary Math II
  • Secondary Math II Lab
candace.garcia@slcschools.org

000

x000

Roger Haglund
roger.haglund@slcschools.org

000

x000

Todd Kassner
  • AP Statistics
  • 7th & 8th Grade Math
todd.kassner@slcschools.org

D402

x452

Jeff Marston
  • Algebra II
  • Honors Algebra II
  • Secondary Math II
jeff.marston@slcschools.org

D401

x451

Nathaniel Nelson
  • Honors Secondary Math I
  • Honors Secondary Math II
  • IB Mathematics HL
nathaniel.nelson@slcschools.org

T210

x392

Joshua Pelton
  • IB Standard Level Math II
  • Secondary Math III
  • Secondary Math Honors III
  • PXP/AVID
joshua.pelton@slcschools.org

x453

Anna Reed
  • Secondary Math II
  • Secondary Math Honors II
  • Secondary Math III
anna.reed@slcschools.org

D407

x457

Lori Takenaka
  • Math Essentials
  • Secondary Math I
lori.takenaka@slcschools.org

424

x424

Jane Wadsworth
  • AP Calculus AB
  • AP Calculus BC
  • Pre-Calculus Honors
jane.wadsworth@slcschools.org

D405

x303

Naval Science

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Jonathan Kehr
Department Chair
  • Naval Science
  • Academic Team
  • Armed Drill Team
  • Competitive Shooting
  • Orienteering Team
  • Unarmed Drill Team
jonathan.kehr@slcschools.org

115

x115

Julio Gonzales
  • Naval Science
  • Academic Team
  • Armed Drill Team
  • Competitive Shooting
  • Orienteering Team
  • Unarmed Drill Team
julio.gonzales@slcschools.org

113

x113

Physical Education

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Syd Aland
Department Chair
  • 8th Grade PE
  • 9th Grade PE
  • Aerobics
  • Lifetime Activities
  • Team Activities
sydney.aland@slcschools.org

Tech Gym

x286

Bill Groves
  • Body Conditioning
  • Lifetime Fitness
  • PE Skills
  • Weight Training
bill.groves@slcschools.org

F301A

x161

Kristy Proesch
  • Cheerleading
  • Fit for Life
  • Oestanas
  • PE Skills
kristy.proesch@slcschools.org

FH

x158

Ronnie Stubbs
  • AVID
  • Body Conditioning
  • Fit for Life
  • PE Skills
ronnie.stubbs@slcschools.org

FH

x159

Science

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Hilary Thirwell
Department Chair
  • AP/IB Biology
  • AP/IB Biology HL
  • Integrated Science 7th Grade
hilary.thirlwell@slcschools.org

T230

x395

Melissa Anderson
  • AP/IB Chemistry
  • Honors Chemistry
  • IB Chemistry HL
melissa.anderson@slcschools.org

T224

x295

Enrique Arce-Larreta enrique.arce-larreta@slcschools.org

Course Calendar

T220

x298

Erica Birch
  • Biology
  • Earth Science
erica.birch@slcschools.org

T213

x291

Alison Bulson
  • AP Physics I
  • Physics with Techology
alison.bulson@slcschools.org

T126

x280

Christian Edgar
  • Chemistry
  • Honors Chemistry
james.edgar@slcschools.org

T218

x297

Gena Cox
  • Biology
  • Honors Biology
gena.cox@slcschools.org

T228

x596

George Haines
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Physics
george.haines@slcschools.org

T219

x294

Janae Hunt
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Systems
janae.hunt@slcschools.org

T229

x597

Crystal King
  • AP/IB Environmental Science
  • Biology
  • ELP 8th Grade Science
crystal.king@slcschools.org

T216

x296

Tyler Lamming
  • Earth Systems
tyler.laming@slcschools.org

T217

x292

Skilled and Technical Sciences / Technology & Engineering

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Bryce VonNiederhausern
Department Chair
  • Automotive Technology
bryce.vonniederhausern@slcschools.org

T120

x394

Moses Baca
  • IB Film
  • TV Broadcasting
  • Video Production
moses.baca@slcschools.org

000

x000

Ron Bartholomew
  • College and Career Awareness
  • Electronics 1, 2, and 3
ron.bartholomew@slcschools.org

T135

x595

Patrick Doty
  • Electronics
  • Robotics
patrick.doty@slcschools.org

T123

x279

Joe Lenge
  • Small Engines Tech
joe.lenge@slcschools.org

T119

x283

Luis (Seyun) Park
  • Driver's Education
  • PXP
seyun.park@slcschools.org

Portable

x000

Tim Poll
  • Cabinet Making/Millwork
  • Furniture Design
  • Woodworking
tim.poll@slcschools.org

T124

x284

Social Studies

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Jenny Nicholas
Department Chair
  • Government
  • Theory of Knowledge
  • PXP
jenny.nicholas@slcschools.org

C400

x440

Kara Budge
  • Honors US History
  • IB Psychology
  • Psychology/Sociology
kara.budge@slcschools.org

C409

x444

Kristie Goddard
  • AP Psychology
  • Geography for Life I and II
  • Honors World Civilizations I and II
kristie.goddard@slcschools.org

C415

x447

David Harper
  • US History Honors
  • US History
  • World Civilizations Honors
david.harper@slcschools.org

202

x202

Teri King
  • AP US History
  • Student Government
  • Student Senate
teri.king@slcschools.org

C419

xC419

Mike Matheson
  • World Civilizations
mike.matheson@slcschools.org

207

x207

Kellie May
  • AVID
  • Government and Civics
kellie.may@slcschools.org

C407

x443

Helen McNally
  • Geography
  • IB History
helen.mcnally@slcschools.org

000

x000

Kami Romeike
  • Geography
  • Honors Geography
  • Honors World Civilizations
  • World Civilizations
kami.romeike@slcschools.org

402

x402

Jacob Taber
  • Geography
  • PXP
  • US History
  • Utah Studies
jacob.taber@slcschools.org

C417

x448

James Tobler
  • AVID
  • Latin American Studies
  • US History
james.tobler@slcschools.org

403

x403

Sandra Twiggs
  • AP Georgraphy
  • ELP US History
  • Honors Geography
  • IB Geography
sandra.twiggs@slcschools.org

C402

x441

Special Education

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Nikki Orton
Department Chair
  • Functional Life Skills
nikki.orton@slcschools.org

200

x200

Tina Breck
  • Language Arts
tina.breck@slcschools.org

312

x312

John Engel
  • Language Arts
john.engel@slcschools.org

306

x306

Keith Lopati
  • Behavior Support
keith.lopati@slcschools.org

T104

x176

Christopher Mortensen
  • Functional Life Skills
christopher.mortensen@slcschools.org

201

x201

Laura Nava
  • Resource Math
laura.nava@slcschools.org

315

x315

Lacy Nelson
  • Academic Support/Resource
  • ELP Health
lacy.nelson@slcschools.org

307

x307

Cory Norton
  • Functional Life Skills
cory.norton@slcschools.org

108

x108

Sham Sorenson
  • Academic Support
sham.sorenson@slcschools.org

310

x310

World Languages

Name Subjects Email Room Ext.
Laila Lamani
Department Chair
  • Arabic I
  • Arabic II
  • IB Arabic
  • French I
  • French II
  • French IV
laila.lamani@slcschools.org

426

x426

Susanna Anderson
  • IB/AP Spanish SL
  • IB/AP Spanish HL
  • DLI Honors Spanish AP
susana.anderson@slcschools.org

411

x411

Kathy Barnard
  • German I
  • German II
  • German III
  • German IV
  • German AP/IB
  • PXP
kathy.barnard@slcschools.org

209

x209

Gary Griffenhagen
  • Conversational Spanish
  • Spanish I and II
  • Spanish for Native Speakers
gary.griffenhagen@slcschools.org

333

x333

Emmy Luo
  • IB/AP Mandarin Chinese
  • Mandarin Chinese I
  • Mandarin Chinese II
  • Mandarin Chinese III
  • Mandarin Chinese IV
emmy.luo@slcschools.org

331

x331

Julia Menendez Jardon
  • Spanish for Native Speakers I
  • Spanish for Native Speakers II
julia.menendezjardon@slcschools.org

406

x406

Alisan Mills
  • IB/AP French
  • Yoga
alisan.mills@slcschools.org

313

x313

Yulliana Novoa
  • IB Spanish ab initio SL2
  • Spanish I
  • Spanish II
  • Spanish IV
yulliana.novoa@slcschools.org

T134

x594

Lori Poll
  • American Sign Language I, II, and III
lori.poll@slcschools.org

301

x301

Kent Thompson
  • Spanish II
  • Spanish III
  • Spanish IV
kent.thompson@slcschools.org

324

x324

Contact Us

West High School
241 North 300 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
phone: 801.578.8500
fax: 801.578.8516

Stay Connected!

Search

Translate This Site


If you need or would like this document in your own language, please contact Valerie Gates at (801) 578-8500, ext. 408, or contact Salt Lake City School District, 440 East 100 South, Salt Lake City, Utah, 84111

No district employee or student shall be subjected to discrimination in employment or any district program or activity on the basis of age, color, disability, gender, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sexual orientation, or veteran status. The district is committed to providing equal access and equal opportunity in its programs, services and employment including its policies, complaint processes, program accessibility, district facility use, accommodations and other Equal Employment Opportunity matters. The district also provides equal access to district facilities for all youth groups listed in Title 36 of the United States Code, including scouting groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries and complaints regarding unlawful discrimination, harassment, and retaliation: Whitney Banks, Compliance and Investigations, 440 East 100 South, Salt Lake City, Utah 84111, (801) 578-8388. You may also contact the Office for Civil Rights, Denver, CO, (303) 844-5695.
Click to view the long form of the civil rights notices
Click to view the grievance procedures

back to top